Microbrew Mondays: Allagash Curieux (100th Post)

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Beer and Wine Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I want to first mention that this is my 100th post on Adventures in Food. I originally started with a goal of posting 100 recipes and insights in a year, and I’m happy to report that I made it with just a week to spare. Thank you for supporting my blog and please continue to visit my site. Thank you for everyone that has shared my posts on your Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and if you have not, it really does help spread the word. Thank you again.

Having “bashed” Allagash White, my best friend purchased a trio of Allagash bottles for me. I plan to post the last of the bottles next month. Together, we first opened this offering called Allagash Curieux (Bourbon Barrel Aged Tripel).

Curieux pours hazy golden brown that quite resembles watered down bourbon. The bottle says to pour this beer slowly into a tulip glass (complete with diagram) and we quickly found out why. A storm of head forms quickly as this beer is poured and raised to three fingers before I stopped and adjusted my pour. We drank this one warm ish (around 60 degrees) and found that that warmth of the beer brought out more notes of the oak casked bourbon barrels. The flavor originally starts with a big hit of alcohol that is overtaken by strong dried fruit like figs or cherries, and a bit of vanilla. As the flavor subsided, I was hit with that bourbon flavor and there is without a doubt an oak presence Allagash did not want you to forget how they fermented this beer.

I really did quite enjoy this beer and give the people at Allagash big props for creating something crazy unique and recycling Jim Beam barrels in the fermentation process. There is little to critique except that I consider this beer more a treat – liked aged scotch – than an everyday favorite. I also wonder what it would have tasted like just a little bit colder. Would the bourbon flavor come more alive? Would the dried fruit or vanilla flavors pop a little more? At 11% ABV, this is a high alcohol beer that is meant to be enjoyed slowly. Curieux has quite a few price points and I’ve found it for between $13 – $18 for a 750ml bottle. If your ready for an experimental beer, or perhaps have never tried a bourbon barrel aged beer, this is a fine start assuming you can find it in your local store.

Grade: A

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    This is my favorite beer!

Leave a Reply

