Microbrew Mondays: Magic Hat Howl

Posted: November 7, 2011 in Beer and Wine Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I should have known better, but I went against my better judgement and picked up a six pack of Magic Hat’s winter seasonal beer Howl. In the past, black beers and I have not always gotten along, but in the spirit of trying new things and experiencing seasonal ales as they come out, I figured Howl was worth a try.

The pour revealed a black beer with little head that disperses quickly. The aroma immediately burst of mocha and malt, two overpowering flavors that I try to stay way from in my beers. The taste immediately hits you with a sweet malt flavor accompanied by some kind of toasted note. Howl finishes clean and leaves very little taste lingering in the mouth. What I’m missing is any kind of hop flavor which I am incredibly disappointed in.

Howl comes in a 6 pack or as part of the Magic Hat seasonal pack. At around $8 a six pack, it’s a good buy and should be around well through the winter. I haven’t always been a big fan of Magic Hat in the past and now I’m finding less and less to like about their beers. As a rule, I tend to stay away from black beers, but I wanted to give this one a chance nevertheless. I’m disappointed mostly in the lack of any unique flavor profile or really anything that separates Howl from any middle of the road black IPA.

Grade: C-

Comments
  1. Katherine says:

    My boyfriend is drinking Howl right now, and he is thoroughly enjoying it. Of course he happens to love Magic Hat, so to each his own, I suppose.

  2. B.A. says:

    agreed! I love magic hat howl… and I too am a big fan of Magic Hat! drink on 😀

Leave a Reply

