Microbrew Mondays: Rogue Dead Guy Ale

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Beer and Wine Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Dead Guy Ale was highly recommended by one of my coworkers during a staff outing, but I did not get a chance to order a pint. While perusing through the microbrew section of my favorite liquor store, I nearly knocked over a display of Rogue brewery ales and figured now was as good a time as any. I’m a big fan of clever packaging and this Oregon based brewery certainly hired some talented artist to decorate their boxes and bottles.

Dead Guy Ale is a honey-red colored beer best served between 50 and 60 degrees. I found after my first two that many of the complex flavors get lost when served cold right out of the refrigerator and is better left to sit on the counter for 10 minutes or so. Dead Guy Ale’s dominate taste is the bitterness of orange peel without the sweetness. The flavor is rounded by a mild caramel flavor.

Dead Guy Ale runs for around $10 – $12 per six pack. Overall, I liked this ale while I had it in my refrigerator, but didn’t find myself rushing to the store to buy more.

Grade: B-

Leave a Reply

